Continuing Care Assistant Program

Recognizing Prior Learning (RPL) Program

Recognizing prior learning (RPL) is a process that assists a person to gain recognition for their knowledge, skills, and attitudes. If a person can prove that they possess certain knowledge and can perform certain skills, then they should not have to repeat that learning. Individuals interested in gaining CCA certification may qualify for one of two RPL methods – Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) or Course Recognition (CR).  

Individuals gaining their CCA certification through the CCA RPL Program have the benefit of guidance of RPL Navigators (RNs with adult education, trained as PLAR Advisor/Assessors and Self-Directed Learning (SDL) Guides). The Navigators facilitate the assessment and learning. The CCA Program Administration assists in arranging placement experiences for the RPL methods. 

Current costs (As of Sept.1, 2018): 
Phase I: $800.00 + 15% HST = $920.00
Phase II: $800.00 + 15% HST = $920.00
Medication: $250.00 + 15% HST = $287.50 *Stand-alone offered to Certified CCAs

Fees are reviewed annually.

For more information on RPL look under Education in the main menu. 

PLAR (Prior Learning Assessment & Recognition)
PLAR allows knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) gained through on-the-job training, formal education, and life experiences to be assessed and credit awarded towards CCA Program education. This is a two phase process.

Phase I or the assessment phase, may take up to three months and involves the participant proving what s/he knows and can demonstrate. Phase II or the education phase is where outstanding CCA education components (modules, placements, external certificates, skills demonstration, and registration for the Certification Exam) are completed and may take up to one year to complete.  

To be eligible for PLAR, the participant in addition to meeting the admission requirements must demonstrate robust, current skills (3 full-time or 5 part-time years of experience) in the health care industry. Experience/education in the industry provides the basis for a participant to successfully challenge a minimum of seven out of the thirteen CCA Program Modules. If a participant fails to successfully challenge the minimum seven modules, s/he is directed to take the classroom course intake through a licensed education provider and the PLAR process is discontinued. 

An eligible participant has the opportunity, through PLAR, to gain credit for prior KSAs that directly apply to the CCA Program modules and placements using an assessment process (Phase I). The participant also has identified their KSA gaps in learning identified (learning path) and has the opportunity to complete the learning path through education (Phase II). 

Course Recognition
Course Recognition means a course certificate or diploma is recognized by the CCA Program Advisory Committee (CCAPAC) and has an assigned learning path based on the education preparation. 

Course Recognition assessment phase (Phase I), is completed by a CCAPAC assigned evaluator, in partnership with the certificate/diploma education provider and is based on the education preparation. The assessment does not involve the graduate from the certificate/diploma program. Once the assessment has been completed, credit for applicable learning modules, placements, and skills demonstrations is awarded and a learning path is assigned. 

To be eligible to access Phase II by means of Course Recognition requires the participant provide the CCA Program Administration with his/her certificate or diploma from a recognized course and the admission requirements outlined in Phase II. The participant is required to complete the assigned learning path within one year. The learning path will include outstanding CCA education components (modules, placements, external certificates, skills demonstration, and registration for the Certification Exam).

The learning path may be taken through the RPL Program, a sponsoring organization, or licensed education provider. 

For a list of Course Recognition Learning Paths please see the Course Recognition Learning Path Chart found under RPL on our Resources page.